How to Perform Hajj Step By Step Guide

Being a Muslim, Faith on five pillars of Islam is very important. These five pillars are:

1- Shahada (Oneness of ALLAH)
2- Salat (Prayers)
3- Roza (Fasting)
4- Zakat (Charity)
5- Hajj ( To make Pilgrimage)

Hajj is the 5th important pillar of Islam. It is obligatory for every Muslim to perform this annual pilgrimage (HAJJ) to Makkah once in a lifetime if he is physically and financially sound.

The history of hajj roots to around 2000BC when ALLAH ordered Prophet Ibrahim to leave his wife Hazrat Hajra and son Hazrat Ismail alone in the deserts of Makkah. Where Hazrat Hajra desperately ran between the mountains of Safa and Marwa in search of water for her son. she found nothing, and on her return to Hazrat Ismail, she saw the baby scratching the ground with his feet and water fountain sprang forth underneath his foot. Later Prophet Ibrahim was commanded by ALLAH to build Kaab’ah at this Place and invite people to pilgrimage there.

From that day Hajj started with number of rituals to be performed from 8th Zil Hajj (the last Islamic Month) to 12th Zil Hajj according to Islamic calender.

There are three (3) types of Hajj:

1.Hajj Tamattu ( performing Umrah and Hajj with a separate Ihram for Each)
2.Hajj Qiran (combining umrah and Hajj in same Ihram)
3.Hajj Ifrad (only Hajj)

The people outside from Saudi Arabia Usually perform Hajj Tamattu. The pilgrims wear Ihram for Umrah and perform Umrah first. Then they put on their ordinary dress and on 8th Zil Hajj they put on Ihram for Hajj and perform the rites of Hajj. It (the Ihram) is then taken off on the day of Sacrifice (Qurbani).

The Umrah

There are four (4) Rites of Umrah:

1) Putting up of Ihram
2) Tawaf
3) Sa’yee
4) Qasar / Halaq

1. Ihram

A pilgrim sets niyyah (intention) of Hajj & Umrah and recites Talbiya before Meqat.

Procedures of Ihram
1. Take a bath (Ghusal) with the intention of Ihram
2. Wear ihram sheets
3. Offer two Rakat of Nafal by covering your head.
4. With your head uncover declare your intention/ Niyyah :
اَللَّهُمَّ اِنِّيْ أُرِيْدُ الْحَجَّ فَيَسْرِهُ لِيْ وَ تَقَبَّلْهُ مِنِّيْ

“O ALLAH! I intend to perform Hajj, please make it easy for me and accept it from me”
5. Start reciting Talbiya continuously. It is compulsory to recite Talbiya loudly once.
6. Enter Masjid Al Haram: Recite Darud e Sharif and Supplicate to ALLAH and proceed towards Kabah.
7. Keep your eyes fixed at Baitullah and Say:
اللّهُ أكبر اللّهُ أكبر, لا إلَهَ الا اللّه, اللّهُ أكبر اللّهُ اكبر, و لِلّه الحمدَ
8. After this recite Talbiya and move forward to perform Tawaf.

Prohibitions of Ihram
1. Cutting Nails
2. Hair cutting Or removing extra hair from any part of the body.
3. Use of any scents on the body or on the robes.
4. Stitched Clothing.
5. Sandals and flip flops must not be stitched either and should allow the ankle and back of foot to be exposed.
6. Covering Face or Head.
7. Hunting of animals even of lice.
8. Sexual activity

2. Tawaf

Upon arriving at the Kaabah, stop reciting the Talbiyyah. You must be in Wudu (ablution). Men to leave their right shoulder bare ONLY during the entire Tawaf, this is called Idtiba’a, after the tawaf men need to cover both shoulders.

1- Start at the Black Stone, either
2- Kiss it if you can, if not.
3- Touch it with your right hand, if not
4- Face the Black Stone and point at it with your right hand

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ, اللّهُ أكبر

(just before kissing it/or just before or whilst touching/pointing) For men, to Raml (hasten/briskly walk) during the first 3 rounds of Tawaf and walk normally during the other 4 rounds. Once you reach the Yamani corner, either Touch it with your right hand (do not kiss it), and say بِسْمِ اللَّهِ, اللّهُ أكبر or if unable, then continue without gesturing or saying anything From the Yamani corner to the Black Stone recite This means moving around Kabah seven times with respect and devotion.The pilgrims must walk keeping Kabah on their left. When they will reach at Rukh al Yamani (the fourth corner of Kabah) they should only touch Hijra e Aswad (the Black stone) and Say

رَبَّنَا آتِنَا فِي الدُّنْيَا حَسَنَةً وَ فِي الآخِرَةِ حَسَنَةً وَ قِنَا عَذَابَ النَّار

“Our Lord grant us good in this life and Hereinafter.”

At the End of Seven circles they will do Istilam (touch or kiss the Black Stone) and say

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ, اللّهُ أكبر

After Tawaf the pilgrims will offer 2 rakat of Nafal close to Maqam-e-Ibrahim without covering their heads.


The pilgrims will go to zamzam, which is situated in the basement of Haram to drink the water (Zamzam) while standing and saying “بِسْمِ اللَّهِ” and (supplicate to ALLAH) :

اللَّهُمَّ إِنِّي أَسْأَلُكَ عِلْمَاً نَافِعَاًً وَرِزْقَاً وَاسِعَاًَ وَشِفَاءً مِنْ كُلِّ دَاءٍ

“O ALLAH! I implore for the beneficial knowledge, vast provisions and cure from every disease.”
3. Sa’ey

The meaning of Sa’ey is to run/ walk back and forth seven times between the hills of Safah & Marwa which are situated to the North and South of Kabah. The seventh trip will end at Marwa. After this the pilgrim will offer two (2) rakat nafal.

4. Qasar / Halaq

After Sa’ey male pilgrims will get their heads completely shaved, females will clip their hair equal to a length of a fingertip.

— Here Umrah is completed —
Day wise Detail of Hajj
8th Zil Hajj (First Day of Hajj)

8th Zil Hajj starts after the Maghrib prayer of 7th Zil Hajj. The Pilgrims will make their preparations for Hajj same as they got prepared for Umrah. I.e. they will take bath/ Ghusal, set intention, wear Ihram and declare Talbiya.

Departure to Mina from Azizia

On 8th Zil Hajj after Fajr prayers OR after the sunrise the Pilgrims will leave towards Mina from Azizia while reciting

اللّهُ أكبر اللّهُ أكبر, لا إلَهَ الا اللّه, اللّهُ أكبر اللّهُ اكبر, و لِلّه الحمدَ

Here they will offer remaining four Prayers (Zuhr, Asar, Maghrib and Isha) and will stay overnight in Mina.

9th Zil Hajj (Second Day of Hajj)
Departure for Arafat from Mina

After Fajr prayers in Mina. The pilgrims will proceed to Arafat ground. Here they will offer Zuhrain (Zuhar+Asar).

Departure for Muzdalifa from Arafat

After Zuhrain in Arafat, the Pilgrims will move towards Muzdalifa after sunset (decling of Sunset), where they will offer Maghribain (combined prayers of Maghrib & Isha prayers) and stay overnight. During different intervals of night, the pilgrims will collect 49 very small size pebbles for next day.

10th Zil Hajj (1st Day of Eid)

On the first day of Eid, the pilgrims will leave for Mina from Muzdalifa after Fajr Prayers. At Mina they will stone Jamarat ul Kubra and will perform Qurbani. After the ritual of Qurbani male Pilgrims will shave their heads and female will clip their hair as part of the Hajj. Now the pilgrims are free to remove their Ihram and wear their ordinary dresses and can perform Tawaf al Ifada. Two (2) Rakat of Nawafil will be offered near Maqam e Ibrahim.They will drink zamzam after performing Sa’ey i.e. 7 runs between Safwah & Marwah and will stay overnight in Mina.

11th Zil Hajj (2nd Day of Eid)

On second day of Eid, the pilgrims will proceed to Jamarat from Mina after Zuhr prayers. They will stone all the three Jamarats (Jamarat e Sughra, Jamarat e Wusta and Jamarat e Qubra) in sequence from small to large by throwing 7 pebbles each. After completion of this ritual, pilgrims will go back to Mina for night stay.

12th Zil Hajj (3rd Day of Eid)

Last day of Eid will again start by proceeding towards Jamarats from Mina after Zuhar Prayers. 4th day stoning of Jamarat will be completed from small to large. After stoning Pilgrims will leave for Makkah before Sunset. Before leaving Makkah, the pilgrims will perform Tawaf ul Wadda (Goodbye Tawaf). At this stage all the obligatory rituals of Hajj are completed.

Hajj is Completed Here. Pilgrims may go to Madina & Ziarats.